Book Review | The Pact by Jodi Picoult

18 Sep

the pact

I’ve been looking for a “can’t put down book” ever since I finished reading all of Gillian Flynn‘s books. “The Pact” definitely fit the standards! There are two couples that live next door to each other and are best friends. Their children grow up together and end up dating. One night the parents get a call saying that their children are in the hospital. Apparently they have attempted a double suicide.  Clearly there is much more to the story. It jumps from the present to the past giving background from the inside of all of the characters heads, and it made everything come together full circle beautifully. All of the twists and turns of the characters’ motives and actions really make you feel like a fly on the wall. I even found myself teary-eyed multiple times over different people’s sides of the story. Definitely a book you should pick up! I’m going to try another one of Jodi Picoult’s books, though they all seem to have plots that don’t appeal to me. I know the writing style might be worth it.

5 Responses to “Book Review | The Pact by Jodi Picoult”

  1. Aman September 18, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    After reading your review, I making sure by the end of this year, I have atleast one Jodi Picoult’s book! 🙂

  2. bookmammal September 18, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    The Pact is one of my very favorite books! I read it for the first time many years ago as a book group selection, and it really sparked a lot of discussion within the group. I’ve read most of her many books since then, and have found that they are kind of hit-or-miss for me. However, I can recommend The Plain Truth as my second favorite Picoult novel.
    Also–if you ever get the chance to hear her speak, please do so! It is fascinating to hear her talk about the exhaustive research she does for each of her books!

    • emmajaegle September 18, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      Wow, thanks for the recommendations! I’d love to hear her speak one day. I think my next book might be the Salem one

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In’s & Out’s | SparkleAndWine - September 19, 2013

    […] Book Review | The Pact by Jodi Picoult (sparkleandwine.com) […]

Leave a Reply

