You Learn New Things About Yourself Every Day

22 Oct

Don’t ever think for a moment that you completely know yourself. Just like the rest of nature, you are always changing. I’ve recently learned some crucial things about myself. This new knowledge has helped me learn how to increase the quality of my life. Here are some of the things that I have learned about myself this year:

1. I’m an introvert! Even my very best friend would never guess that about me. I have always been social and in the “popular” group, but this does not change the fact that I am introverted. I bought a book called “Do What You Are”, and it is better than a personality type quiz because it talks you through the process of determining your type. I found out that I am introverted because I NEED my alone time to recharge my batteries. I can be as social as I want to as long as I prepare myself, which is something that I have learned how to do in life. It’s very true that if I get over stimulated, I will get very irritable (like cats when you pet them too much!).

2. I am much happier in a home that I can decorate and add art to. It’s hard when you move out for college and basically your 20’s because you’re constantly moving apartments. This last move I decided that screw it, I’m going to enjoy the holidays and decorate. I’m going to make my home feel homey. If art and candles and decoration make me happy, it’s worth the extra boxes moving!

3. I go crazy sitting at a desk all day, all week. I need a job where I can move about freely. This realization has helped me come to the conclusion that I will go back to school for psychology so that when I have my own practice, I can control my own hours and won’t be confined somewhere forever. I hate being stuck somewhere even when there is no work to do. If the job is done, why can’t I go home?

4. I need weekly salt baths to balance out my body chemicals. Because I have so much stress in my life this year, I need to cleanse all the negative energy and balance out my electrolytes. It really helps me.

5. I am most happy and positive when I am in an exercise routine. Ever since I started going to the gym 3 times a week, it has been easier for me to have happier thoughts.

6. I can not take a drug holiday. My body gets thrown off from skipping one day, and withdrawals are like bad PMS. I don’t realize I have them until damage is done.

7. In order for me to be happy, I need to consciously think and say positive things. It does not come naturally to me. Because it makes me feel good, it gets easier and easier to do though. If I stop for a while, I have to start all over again with a struggle.

8. I need to constantly have at least on tv show that I am hooked on. This helps me get through my week, know what day it is, and look forward to things. It’s a little sad, but it’s a routine checker!

9. As I was a slow-to-warm-up child, I am I slow-to-warm-up adult. I need things to grow on me. I find myself in new situations or hearing about new things, and I get so overwhelmed that I either immediately reject it, or make a terrible impression because I’m all foggy in my head. Even hearing a new album makes me say “this is stupid, it all sounds the same”. I’ve learned that I need to listen to it a few times before making a judgement. I need to take time to think about other lifestyles or ideas before I say that it’s stupid. Another example is that when I first started working at my job, everyone thought I was so dumb and I messed up a lot. That’s because I was so overwhelmed that I couldn’t concentrate on things  like I usually do. I need to self-regulate and ease myself into things.

Leave a Reply

