Encountering Audiobooks | Reviews

9 Dec

images

Due to the unforgivable 405 construction/ traffic mess, my commute to and from work has been excruciatingly long. If you were to listen to the same 7 radio stations in traffic for at least 2 hours a day, you would want to smash your head through the window anytime Katy Perry’s “Roar” comes on. I decided to try out audiobooks.

chel

I started with something I’ve been wanting to read for a while, Chelsea Handler‘s “Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea,” and loved it. It was just the kind of pick-me-up I needed to prepare for and relax from work stress.

blink

I then wanted to explore educational audiobooks, and tried out Malcolm Gladwell‘s “Blink“. If I was reading this in my own time, it would be more interesting. If I didn’t already learn these concepts in my psychology classes, I’d be more interested too. After work, I would not be able to focus on anything at all. Maybe it’s Malcom’s voice, maybe it’s from being tired, who knows. I had to stop halfway through the book.

books_letspretend.widea

I decided that audiobooks by comedians were more of the type of thing I needed to hear. I stumbled upon Jenny Lawson‘s “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened“. Jenny is a blogger (“blogess”) and she tells stories of her growing up until now. There is so much about Jenny that I can relate to. It’s hard to believe that other people had parents just as embarassing as yours growing up, and I respect her for being completely honest about depression and anxiety. I also really liked how she showed that her marriage and relationship with her husband kept it’s spark all these years and didn’t dull when they had a kid. I think I’m going to start following her blog now, and I’m inspired to write some of my stories down in case I become successful in life and want to write a book 🙂

Leave a Reply

