2014 New Year’s Resolutions

31 Dec

When making your New Year’s Resolutions, it’s best to make sure that they are achievable. You don’t want to set yourself up for failure. You also want to make sure that they are things that you are motivated to do. Don’t just say that you are going to do something without any plan of how you are going to go about it. I’ve made a list of things that I’m already doing lately and hope to continue throughout the next year. My theme is Do What Makes You Feel Good. If it makes me feel good, do more! Feel free to be inspired! 🙂

1. Keep Journaling– I have had the same diary for 2 years. I love the feeling of venting and getting everything out on paper. I can’t imagine how annoyed my mom and boyfriend get from how often I complain about the same things. Next year, I’m going to journal more. It feels good to me and will give them a break! Maybe I can even fill a whole book in a year.

2. Yoga– When I first was introduced to yoga, I didn’t get it. This is probably because I was a cheerleader and found my stretches and dancing more therapeutic. Now that I’m a grown woman with a full-time job, I don’t have time or a budget for dance classes and I’ve definitely lost my flexibility which makes stretching feel more discouraging.  Recently I decided to give  yoga another try. Partly because I’ve been hearing all these good things that it does for you, and partly because it’s a step towards gaining my flexibility back and maybe some sanity. Since I already belong to a gym and they offer yoga and pilates classes, I decided to start attending as often as I can. It makes me feel so much more balanced afterwards.

3. Uber More– For those of you not up to date with the latest travel trend in LA, it’s an app called Uber. This is a car service much nicer than a taxi where your chauffeurs wear suits and drive nicer cars. They can come at the touch of a button at any time, and it’s even cheaper than a taxi. You can see exactly where they are on your map, and you pay them through your phone. It’s great for when you are drunk and don’t want to deal with financial logistics. Tip is included! Plus, you can view the ratings of your driver and they can rate you back. You can learn all about them before they pick you up which gives my anxious ass some sense of safety. ANYWAYS. My resolution is to Uber more. We all have those nights where we are DD’s and really don’t want to be so we then test our limits of how much you can drink while being sober enough to drive. Clearly that’s not safe. Especially since a handful of my friends have gotten DUI’s lately, I decided to just not risk it and choose to Uber more.

4. Meditate– It is so hard for me to meditate!! But I want to! I decided to not give up. There’s so many benefits to your health when you meditate, so I figure as long as I keep trying I’ve got to get some of them, right?!

5. Stay Off My Phone– Ok, not really. But I want to make an effort to have my phone in my purse when I’m at a restaurant, and focus on the company that I’m presently with. I feel that it is important to have those habits and not become a slave to social media when there are other options of socializing right in front of me.

6. Pursue My Dreams– It’s been incredibly hard to pursue my dream of psychology after I decided against it my junior year of college and let my grades slip while paying no mind to lectures on getting into grad school. Now I’m doing everything the hard way while trying to maintain a full-time job. I need to be strong and not give up! Hopefully it will all be worth it.

7. Just Do What Feels Good– The past year and a half or 2 I’ve realized that I love to cook. I can’t let my work schedule prevent me from that enjoyment. I also love crocheting & knitting, getting lost in books, walking, blogging, surprising my boyfriend, having friends over, the list goes on! Why not try to do all of this more often?!

3 Responses to “2014 New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. georgia + darlin' December 31, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    These are all good ones, and I wish you success in them! I’m with you on the meditating more — it’s so darn difficult because that’s when my mind goes racing, and I think about all of the million things I should/could be doing instead — which is precisely the reason I should meditate! ha! Happy New Year!

    • emmajaegle January 1, 2014 at 8:51 pm #

      Happy New Year! We will do it this year!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year To Make New Changes « BreakawayBabes - January 1, 2014

    […] 2014 New Year’s Resolutions (sparkleandwine.com) […]

Leave a Reply

