My First Zumba Class

7 Jan

zumba-logo

I had so much pre-work stress (mostly for nothing) that after my first day back at work, I had to shake all my negative emotions out. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Zumba was taking place in my gym that night and I decided to give it a try. I have a dance/cheer background and miss it terribly. I thought that this could be a good substitute.

My teacher was Derrick Garcia. The class seemed to worship him, but I completely understood why. He’s fabulous. His personality brought me back to cheer camp and kept me excited and motivated throughout the class. I feel like we’d be bffs, but then again I’m sure a lot of people feel that way about him. Anyways, he’s supposed to especially be a good Zumba instructor because he works on The Biggest Loser. Apparently Zumba is a great way to start weight loss.

I might do Zumba again if my schedule allows. It’s great cardio and l looked like I got put through the ringer afterwards. However, you look absolutely RIDICULOUS doing it. It’s essentially really simple yet exaggerated dance moves to engage your whole body. I didn’t mind looking like an idiot, however the obnoxious latino/party/dance music blasting through the speakers caused the other gym goers to keep peeking in with curiosity. I totally understand the point of the music- it’s supposed to pump you up and get you excited. And it totally got the rest of the class excited. They also liked to incorporate extra “booty pops” into their moves. I guess if I went to a different class, the music would be different. All in all it was worth it for a free perk of my gym membership.

One Response to “My First Zumba Class”

  1. overprotected1 January 9, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

    YES … defo do more its fantastic šŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

