The Psychology of Yoga

21 Jan

yogaThis past Saturday while I was in my yoga class, I had an amazing psychological revelation. Well not really. I’m sure this has been studied and proven before, but I came to this conclusion myself. A few months ago, I saw Amy Cuddy on TEDtalks talking about how body language shapes who you are. She said that if you are in a big, confident position for 2 minutes a day, it will raise your confidence levels. The same goes for sitting/standing in a shrinking, small position- it lowers your confidence. Anyways, back to little ol me in my yoga class, struggling to balance on one leg with my arms reached for the heavens. I realized that most yoga poses are about expanding the chest, lifting your heart, being a warrier, being strong. Practicing yoga should be awesome for your self esteem levels! The more I do yoga, the more I feel balanced and at peace with myself afterwards. This has to be from the courageous, confident poses recharging my body language.

4 Responses to “The Psychology of Yoga”

  1. yogibattle January 21, 2014 at 11:54 pm #

    That’s awesome! Keep up your practice and your confidence wii soar!

    • emmajaegle January 22, 2014 at 12:43 am #

      Thank you! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  2. Andrea Leber January 22, 2014 at 12:00 am #

    I’ve seen this talk as well and it right away made me think of how yoga teaches us to fully embody our bodies, if that makes sense. I wish yoga was available for free to everyone!

    • emmajaegle January 22, 2014 at 12:43 am #

      I know! I took a hot yoga class at Core Power Yoga and it was AMAZING! But I usually just go to the free ones at my gym.

Leave a Reply

