Product Review | Maybelline’s Color Elixir in “Vision in Violet”

15 May

I’ve wanted purple lips for quite some time now. Not only is it my favorite color but it’s odd enough of a lip color for a double take, yet not odd enough to cause aversive stares. When I was surfing the CVS aisles, I was ecstatic to stumble upon this color.

4155433060

Since you have to use a wand to apply this lipsticky gloss, you need a mirror to make sure that it applies evenly. Once it’s on, you’re good to go! I love that once it is on, it looks like a dupe for MAC’s Violetta in the amplified creme formula. Maybe a little shiner.

Me, rockin' it

Me, rockin’ it

My favorite thing about this gloss is that it’s buildable. You can do a thin layer for a bright fushia shade, or if you go thicker it will look like an electric violet color. If you achieve the electric violet color, it lasts for a few hours at a time before reapplication is needed.

One of the drawbacks about this formula is that it stains your lips. I went to the mall with my mom after freshly applying it, and after about three hours and deciding to lick off the remains and forgoing the look (don’t judge me, you know you eat your lipgloss too), my lips were stained bright pink. Now this could also be a cool look, but I’m one of those people that either go bold or don’t so I was a little bummed when I was stuck with the bold lip commitment until I could find makeup remover.

Another note is that when applying it to my lips, I didn’t smell ANYTHING. I then saw a beauty YouTuber say that it smells good, so next time I applied it, I gave the wand a sniff. It actually smells pretty good. I’d say it smells like  a lifesaver. But it IS light. As I mentioned before, I didn’t smell anything until I actually tried to. So don’t let that get in your way if you don’t like smelly things. 🙂

Stay Beautiful!

Emma

One Response to “Product Review | Maybelline’s Color Elixir in “Vision in Violet””

  1. danabuchmiller May 15, 2014 at 4:01 pm #

    Very cool! The lip creme looks awesome! I’ll have to check it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

