May Favorites

29 May

It’s that time of the month again, the faves! Here’s what I’ve been loving this month:

61gza0DVgHL._SL1500_

I had to spend $10 more dollars for free shipping on Amazon.com, so I finally gave in and got myself a round brush to blow dry my hair with. I got the Conair GelGrips one because I’m a sucker for squishy things like that handle. I don’t think it adds anything extra to the brush, but it can do a hell of a blow dry! I barely have to run over my hair with a flat iron after drying my hair with that if I want a super straight look.

I_0098132085873_50

It only took me my 23rd birthday for me to realize that my all-over face brush was the same one I had since 7th grade. That would make it over a decade old. Scary! I purchased a new BareMinerals Flawless Face Brush off of Amazon. I’m not sure if it is a knock off, but it does a way better job than my old brush. It disperses the powder makeup very evenly and it’s super soft!

0007124918773_500X500

I also noticed that I’ve been using Maybelline’s Falsies mascara pretty religiously for the past 5 years. It was time to try something new. I bought L’Oreal’s Voluminous Million Lashes. At first I was very impressed. Then I started wearing it every day. My eyelashes started falling out and feeling dry. I double checked that it wasn’t waterproof because those tend to have that effect on my eyelashes. Nope! I now will only use this mascara on special occasions in fear of losing all of my eyelashes. It does a great job at building them up though!

4155433060

Of course, Maybelline’s Color Elixir in “Vision in Violet” is a fave this month! I’ve already posted about how I love the formula and color. ❤ ❤ ❤

V391227

My friend, Megan got me Victoria’s Secret’s body spray in Island Rush for my birthday. It is pomelo and coconut water scented. I mentioned before that I got their tropical-smelling “Sexy Escape” scent as well. I like to switch it up with this one in my rotation because it’s more of a fresh, mellow tropical smell. Sometimes I just prance around my apartment and spray it in the rooms to liven it up 🙂

pBBW1-17664191_alternate1_v275

To continue on with my tropically trend, I started burning my Bath & Body Works “Island Margarita” candle this month. It fills the room super quick with it’s scent. It’s described as mandarine, mango, plum, with a salty margarita smell, but I liked it because it wasn’t too fruity or sweet- if that makes any sense. I definitely smelled the plum. Love it!

15844362

A book favorite of mine this month was Kiera Cass’ third novel in The Selection trilogy, “The One.” Spoiler alert: it is a typical YA series. However, I read these because I loved the world that Cass created, it was a feel-good read, and it took my mind off of the horrible work stress I had at the time. “The One” came out on May 6, and I felt like I needed to see what happened. I’m glad I did because the last book was definitely a lot more serious and had some unexpected twists. For those of you who don’t know the plot of the series- it’s about a hierarchal society with 7 castes/ designated jobs (much like The Hunger Games or Divergent). The prince becomes of-age, and has a (Cinderella meets The Bachelor) competition for the new princess. The story follows a girl, America, from caste 5- the artists. This story is supposed to take place in the future, so there are many references to the history of the United States, along with some made-up history to create a new world. I enjoyed it!

bachelorette

Duh, The Bachelorette! It’s back this month with Andi Dorfman! I’m so excited. I think she will bring the genuine search of love (that Juan Pable ruined) back to the show. This season, my friends and I are doing a fantasy league through BachFantasy.com. I know I’m a nerd!!! But it’s so much fun and a great excuse to get together with friends. My team, Rose Bros is kicking some booty already!

What are some of you all’s favorites this month? I’d love to try new things!

Best,

Em

Leave a Reply

