Bare Minerals bareSkin Liquid Foundation Review

9 Jul

Bare Minerals graced the IPSY event with their bareSkin liquid foundation. They gave complimentary skin color matching, and once you do a few social media tasks you got a free full-sized bottle along with the special brush that goes with it.

Side Note: I was completely surprised when my color shade was “Bare Ivory.” Hellooo I’ve been in the mediums my whole life! Am I the only one that gets borderline insulted when getting a lighter result in a makeup consultation?!

Bare-Minerals-bare-Skin-Serum-Foundation-spring-2014

I’ve been using Bare Minerals’ powder since I started wearing makeup, so needless to say I was ecstatic. You’re supposed to shake the bottle and then drop some of the foundation in the middle of the brush and buff around. The brush worked really well, but there’s something about my fingers that work a lot more efficiently with less product. Plus they require less cleaning maintenance!

Here’s the bottom line: great, light coverage. It works perfectly under the foundation powder, concealer, and blush to create an air-brushed look. Here’s my schtick: It smells mildewy! I don’t know what it is! I’ve used the brush as an excuse, but here I am giving it another try without the brush, and I still smell it! Maybe they gave out old product at the convention and that’s why it smells, but beware. I’m so bummed about it. It smelled fine this morning when I put it on with my fingers, but now it is 4:00 p.m. and I smell mildew. 😦

I decided that since the product is so natural and I don’t want to waste it, that I will wear it when I go to night class. I have a routine of showering before school, and I hate putting on a full face of makeup for only a few hours of class, so this will be my compromise.

Anyone else have a difference experience? Let me know!

Emma

5 Responses to “Bare Minerals bareSkin Liquid Foundation Review”

  1. colormepeach July 18, 2014 at 4:15 am #

    I felt the same way! It just doesn’t cut it like the loose mineral foundations do! I nominated you for a liebster award over on my blog at wordpress.com/colormepeach

  2. Margie von Furstenrecht July 29, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    I had the same experience with the smell. When I first tried it I love the coverage but that mildrew smell is horrible. The first day I wore it I thought the smell was coming from something else…..needless to say it was the makeup………

    • emmajaegle August 1, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

      Ok now I know I didn’t just get an expired one or something. How disappointing!

  3. LJ August 15, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

    I was wondering if anyone else detected a mildew smell. Guess I’m not alone. I washed the brush hoping it was the cause but no luck. I really love the coverage but yuck! No one wants to feel like their face is covered in a mildewy makeup.

Leave a Reply

